Flex Donut Collection

The Flex Donut Collection Changed My Life

If you’re lucky, a few times in your life you’re going to eat something so good that it impresses itself in your brain for the rest of your life.

Let’s face it, even though some restaurants make food that is better than others, very seldom do they make something that is so unique, so PERFECT, that you doubt you could get the same thing anywhere else. Out of the millions of restaurants in the world, only a small percentage make something that changes your life. 

I’ve been fortunate enough to have this experience twice before, and last night made three. It started out as a regular date night. I got the restaurant, Flex Mussels, from the Unique Eats restaurant list. We went there and shockingly ate apps and entrees that were not mussels. Everything was delicious, but then it came time for dessert…

Flex has a really simple dessert menu, it only has three items. From the moment I looked at the menu at home, I knew that I was having the Flex Donut Collection. Your choice of flavor-filled yeast donuts with a vanilla bean dipping sauce. We chose strawberry, wild blueberry and salted caramel.

Sounds simple, right? WRONG. This is the most perfect dessert plate ever invented. The person who invented this combination is a FUCKING GENIUS. The donuts themselves were excellent. But the kicker, the absolute STAR of the plate, was the vanilla bean sauce. I was literally speechless upon dipping my donut in that sauce and eating it. Not because my mouth was chock full of donut, but because no words could describe just how good it was.

Perfect. Genius. Balanced. Life changing. These words come close, but they don’t fully express the feeling this little bowl of absolute nirvana invokes. As I write this now I am fighting the urge to hop on the train downtown and get some more.

You see, many times dessert dipping sauces add nothing but sugar to the thing you’re eating. It’s less of a dipping sauce and more of a frosting. This was different. This was a whole new layer of flavor. This was a completely different experience from eating the donut by itself. The vanilla bean dipping sauce is so delicious, so perfectly made, so balanced, that I could eat it by itself. No donuts needed.

After the donuts were gone we had some sauce left over and I couldn’t bear to let it go to waste. I didn’t have a spoon so I ate it with my finger. Don’t judge me. I’LL DO WHAT I WANT!

Later I learned that the genius creator of this dish is pastry chef Zac Young, who was on Top Chef: Just Desserts and regularly makes appearances on Cooking Channel and Food Network shows. I have to meet this man, to thank him for bringing this dish into my life. Also, I have to get this recipe. If it’s the last thing I do, I HAVE to get this recipe. And you have to go try it at Flex Mussels. Now. Right now. Go. You’ll thank me.

I don’t know if you’ve ever seen the movie Simply Irresistible (if not, I highly recommend), but the dessert dance scene at the end of that movie perfectly describes my Flex Donut Collection eating experience.

Flex Mussels
154 W. 13th Street
New York, NY 10025
212-229-0222

Leave a Reply

